A look back on 2016 {NYC Wedding, Event and Family Photography}

2016 was quite a year! For me it was year #12 of photographing weddings, which is pretty crazy to think about – like, for example, the fact that toddlers I photographed at my first weddings in 2004 are teenagers now, that’s wild! I’m so happy that I get to do what I LOVE for a living, and weddings still make me insanely happy. I’m beyond thankful that I get to live my passion year after year!

I also diversified a bit, and in addition to wedding/engagement, proposal and family photography, I ventured into event photography like corporate parties and charity events, and party photography at venues like The House of Yes in Brooklyn!

Last year I also experienced one of the hardest times of my life, when I suffered a brain aneurysm in June and faced a long road to full recovery. It was the first time that I’ve ever had to stay at a hospital, first time I ever had to have surgery, and first time I’ve ever had something serious and life-threatening happen with my health. It came out of nowhere and I had a wedding to shoot two days later. It was going to be the first time in my 12 year career that I unfortunately had to miss a wedding.

My team took care of everything seamlessly and even though my life was interrupted, my work was not! I could not have done it without Taylor, Lauren, and Jayd, as well as many others who helped me along in my recovery. I’m happy to report that I am now fully recovered and busy booking 2017 and 2018 weddings and events!

Something interesting happens when you come face to face with death. Fear of failure? GONE. Insecurity? Obliterated. Sweating the small stuff? Nope, no more. When you come that close to losing it all, you really cling to what’s important.

As I look back on my work from 2016, I see an ever-so-subtle change between the first half of the year and the second. The way I look at life is just slightly different. My love for photography has intensified. I have always looked for the magic in life and I feel like after this experience, I have become even more of a dreamer and seeker of magic moments, I appreciate the small things more than ever before, I find myself amazed and in love with MORE about life than ever before.

On a personal level, when there’s a tragedy in your life, people rally around you. You see the amazing things people are capable of. My love for my husband and my family has become completely solidified and even more more profound. Family and friends who have rallied around me all these months are now inseparable parts of my heart. They have seen me at my worst, my absolute worst. And they’re still here and more important to me than ever.

And that was my 2016 in a nutshell. A kinda crazy, somewhat tragic year, punctuated with unbelievable moments of love and beauty. I choose to appreciate and remember the moments of love and beauty.

Looking back at all of the amazing people, places, celebrations that I photographed last year makes me appreciate all of my clients even more for making it a great year! Thank you all for continuing to trust me to preserve their memories!

Lisa and Jack got married at the Hyatt Regency in Jersey City, NJ and started my 2016 wedding season in early January!
NJ Wedding Photographer, NY Wedding Photographer, Wedding at the Hyatt in Jersey City, Jersey City Wedding

I had the honor of photographing The Federal Bar Association present The 2016 Rule of Law Award to Bryan Stevenson
nyc-eventphotographer-federalbarassociation-bryanstevenson-nyeventphotographer

Brian proposed to Marcela at Ink 48 (and she said yes!)
NYC Proposal, Proposal Photographer, The Heart Bandits

Tiffany and JP welcomed their little guy into the world
Newborn Photographer, Lifestyle Family Photography, Family Photos

Colleen and Alex got married at Greenpoint Loft
NYC Wedding, Greenpoint Loft, Brooklyn Wedding, NYC Wedding Photographer, Brooklyn wedding photographer

Lauren and Greg, visiting NYC for the first time from New Zealand, adventured around DUMBO
NYC photographer, Brooklyn, DUMBO, Couples photographer, vacation photographer, visiting NYC, New York

I got to photograph Toasted Wedding Event in Greenpoint, Brooklyn!
Toasted Wedding Event, Brooklyn, NYC

It was so great to be a part of the Best Friends Animal Society benefit at the Bowery Hotel which raised $500,000 for a new animal shelter in SoHo and was attended by celebs like Emmy Rossum and Beth Stern, along with some really cute kittens and pups.
NYC Event Photographer, Best Friends Animal Society, Beth Stern, Emmy Rossum

Ashlee and Greg came to NYC for a family shoot with their little girl, and a surprise announcement!
NYC family photographer

Parth and Sonal got engaged at Ink48!
NYC Proposal Photographer, Ink48, Heart Bandits, Propsal Photos, Get Engaged, How He Asked, She Said Yes

Little Cinema screened The Fifth Element at The House of Yes and I was there to photograph the event!
Little Cinema, House of Yes, Fifth Element, Event Photographer, NYC Event Photographer, NYC Party Photographer

I photographed an event for IPsoft that included live band karaoke at Hill Country BBQ!
Live Band Karaoke, Happy Hour, Corporate Party, Event Photographer

I was back once again to photograph the charity event for Alliance for Lupus Research – on the trading floor of BTIG, where some unsuspecting clients got to chat with celebrities who were all there to support their charities, and the brokers donated their commission to those charities! It was a pretty unique experience to have the likes of Molly Sims, Mark Messier, Kristin Davis, and former NYC Mayor Bloomberg in front of my camera!
BTIG Charity Day

The House of Yes had a Prince Tribute! One of the images ended up being published in Time Out New York!
House of Yes, Prince, Time Out New York

Kate and Irene got married at Oakeside Mansion in Bloomfield, NJ
NJ Wedding Photographer, NJ wedding, Two Brides, Hers and Hers, Mrs and Mrs, Kamila Harris Photography

Lucy and Matthew got married at Aurora in Brooklyn
nyc-wedding-aurora-bk-brooklyn

Becca and Jonathan got married at Village Club at Lake Success in Great Neck, Long Island
Long Island Wedding, Long Island Wedding Photographer, Village Club at Lake Success, Great Neck, Long Island

Brooke and Nick got married in Central Park!
NYC Elopement Photographer, NYC Elopement, Central Park, Bethesda Terrace

Lila and Johan got married at the Music Hall of Williamsburg in Brooklyn!
Music Hall of Williamsburg Wedding

Lakshmi and Gabriel had a sweet engagement party at Frankie’s in Brooklyn!
Frankies Spuntino Engagement Party, Engagement Party Photographer, NYC Photographer, Brooklyn Photographer

Gretta and Adam had an amazing wedding at Aurora in Brooklyn!
Aurora Brooklyn, Wedding at Aurora, Aurora BK, Brooklyn Wedding Photographer, Brooklyn Wedding

On June 1st I photographed the dress rehearsal for The Great American Casket Company – an immersive theater experience at Green-Wood Cemetery.
GACC, Modern Rebel, GreenWood Cemetery, Immersive Theater, Brooklyn, NYC

That night, a little after midnight, my brain exploded.

I spent the next three weeks in the ICU at Mount Sinai. During that time, my team photographed weddings in my place and did an AMAZING job.

Lauren, Taylor and Brian photographed Kerry and Amit’s wedding at The Hempstead House
Long Island Wedding at Hempstead House

Taylor and Jayd photographed Christina and Paulie at Fox Hollow in Woodbury, Long Island
Long Island Wedding Photographer, Long Island, Fox Hollow, Fox Hollow Wedding

I was home from the hospital recovering, and in mid-July I was feeling well enough to photograph Sarah and John’s elopement at Gantry Plaza in Queens!
NYC Wedding, LIC, Long Island City, Gantry Plaza, Elopement, Small Ceremony, Small Wedding

Feeling even better in August, I was able to photograph David and Ambreleah’s Engagement Session!
NYC Engagement Session, NYC, Central Park, Bethesda Fountain

Then came Ashley and Jamaine’s vow renewal in Montauk!
Montauk Wedding Photographer, Montauk Wedding

And Sarah and John celebrated their wedding at Ramona in Greenpoint!
Ramona, Brooklyn, Greenpoint, Wedding

Courtney and Chris’ engagement session was awesome!
NY Engagement Session Photographer, Engagement Photos at the Metropolitan Museum

Then came September, and I was feeling well enough to jump back into a busy fall wedding season!!

Kamila and Harris (YUP those are their real names) got married at Hancock Shaker Village in Pittsfield, MA.
Hancock Shaker Village, Pittsfield, MA, Wedding Photographer, Sunset

Runa and Daniel tied the knot at Manhattan City Hall – Marriage Bureau.
nyc-cityhall-wedding-elopement-marriagebureau-newyork-0002

Dayna and Logan got married at Manhattan City Hall – Marriage Bureau.
City Hall Wedding NYC

Barbara and Karen got married on a pier at Riverside Park in Harlem and celebrated at Dinosaur BBQ!
NYC Same Sex Wedding, Two Brides Marry in Riverside Park

Ambreleah and David got married at Battery Gardens in lower Manhattan.
Battery Gardens Wedding; Battery Gardens Wedding Photo; NYC Wedding Photographer; New York Wedding Photographer

Mallorie and Josh had their beautiful wedding at Loeb Boathouse in Central Park.
NYC wedding photographer kamila harris, wedding at Loeb Boathouse in Central Park

Andrea and Telly’s wonderful Greek wedding was at Marina Del Rey in the Bronx.
NYC wedding at Marina Del Rey Kamila Harris Photography

Samantha and Dennis had an amazing wedding at Fort Mifflin in Philadelphia.
Wedding at Fort Mifflin in Philadelphia

Chantal and Iain’s wedding at Bacchus Bistro in Brooklyn was a lovely, intimate event.
Bacchus Brooklyn Wedding

Jia and Xiang got married at Manhattan City Hall – Marriage Bureau.
NYC Elopement Photographer, City Hall Wedding, Manhattan, Marriage Bureau

I photographed a benefit for the Basser center for BRCA, an evening of storytelling about the experience of finding out about being BRCA positive and preventative surgery for breast cancer.
Basser center for BRCA

I helped my neighborhood non-profit, Sunnyside Shines, to create a holiday mailer encouraging people to shop local, by photographing the items that local business offer.
product photographer

Javi and Victor got married, in the rain, on the roof, at Gary’s Loft in Midtown Manhattan, in one of the most romantic, love-filled weddings of all time!
gay wedding nyc, gary's loft wedding, nyc wedding photographer, lbgtq wedding

Courtney and her family, visiting from Arizona, got in front of my camera on the High Line!
nyc family photography on the high line

Kelsey and Matt got married at the awesome Gantry Loft in Long Island City, Queens.
LIC Wedding, Gantry Loft, Gantry Plaza, Photos at Gantry Plaza, Long Island City, Long Island City Wedding, Queens Wedding Photographer

Jessica and Darius had an amazing wedding in New Orleans at Tomas Bistro complete with a second-line around the Warehouse District.
New Orleans Wedding, New Orleans Wedding Photographer, NOLA Wedding Photographer

Kate and John celebrated the upcoming arrival of their little boy, on the beach in Point Pleasant, NJ.
MATERNITY SESSION, maternity photo, nj, beach, point pleasant, nj maternity session, maternity session photographer

Lisa and Tony, visiting NYC, got in front of my camera in Central Park.
visiting NYC photo session

I photographed the first alumni event at the American Academy of Dramatic Arts including a small preview of Cagney the Musical!
academy of dramatic arts alumni event cagney the musical event photographer, Event Photography, Cagney the Musical

I got to photograph the annual holiday lighting ceremony here in Sunnyside, Queens, which included appearances by our Councilman Jimmy Van Bramer, Borough President Melinda Katz, and NY State Senator Senator Michael Gianaris.
Sunnyside, Queens, Event Photographer, Holiday Lighting, Council Member Jimmy Van Bramer, Borough President Melinda Katz, Senator Michael Gianaris

I photographed the Foreplay show at The House of Yes, which featured amazing aerialist acts
House of Yes, Foreplay, Aerialist, NYC, Brooklyn, Bushwick, Party Photographer

Savaria and Herve celebrated their wedding at the Ritz Carlton in Washington, DC
Washington DC Wedding at the Ritz Carlton

The House of Yes had a Christmas Spectacular that was SUPER fun to photograph!
House of Yes Christmas Spectacular, Bushwick, Brooklyn, NYC, Party Photographer

I was a part of a very special ceremony where 19 immigrant children were sworn in as brand new US Citizens at The Museum of Food and Drink in Brooklyn.
MOFAD Citizenship Ceremony, Event Photographer, NYC Event Photographer

The Weeks Marine Holiday Party was held at the Chart House in Weehawken.
Corporate Event Photographer, Holiday Party, Weeks Marine

IPSoft had their annual Holiday party at The Cathedral of St John the Divine, a Venetian Masquerade Themed soiree of over 650 guests!
NYC Corporate Event Photographer

And last but certainly not least, Jules and Jason had me photograph some memories of their visit to NYC from Atlanta!
couples session, visiting NYC, photos while visiting New York

WHEW!!! What an amazing year it was!! I’m so excited and looking forward to everything that 2017 will bring!

Never miss a post! Subscribe to this blog, or follow us on Facebook!

Contact Kamila Harris Photography for wedding, engagement, family and event photography:
Email: hello@kamilaharris.com
Phone: 718-915-4479
Website: www.kamilaharris.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/kamharrisphoto


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.