Manhattanhenge

I am a huge nerd. I love science – my favorite branches being physics and astronomy. In my spare time I like to read about the solar system and stream shows on Netflix about the weather patterns on Jupiter. I could listen to Neil deGrasse Tyson and Carl Sagan speak for hours. When I first read about Manhattanhenge – the alignment of sunset and street grid in NYC – I knew I had to one day be a part of it. Finally, yesterday evening, I got to 23rd street in Manhattan and I joined a crowd with cameras right in front of the Flatiron Building, just in time to capture this awesome phenomenon. It was one of those unique moments that can only happen in New York. About a hundred people blocked traffic and, in awe, watched the sun go down. It was an amazing experience, and one I highly recommend – in fact, it will occur again this evening, so if you are in the city or can make it in, get to 14th, 23rd, 34th, 42nd, or 57th around 8:15 p.m. tonight!