7 years

7 years ago today i stood on a bridge in central Jersey and watched in disbelief as the sky in the distance filled with black smoke. It felt so personal. My city was bleeding. It was absolutely surreal. I was glued to the TV for a few days straight but once I stopped watching – to this day I cannot watch the coverage or look at those images, it’s just too much. I can’t believe it’s been 7 years and that there are children in this world that will never know what it was like to live before 9/11 when “terror” wasn’t a a word you hear every single day.

In early 2001 I interviewed for a job in the WTC and turned it down for another opportunity. A few friends of mine were in the city that day. A few were walking over the Brooklyn bridge in the chaos to get out of the city. One actually made it out of the towers, and one, well, she did something very rare – she didn’t feel well and called out of work that day. She lost all of her coworkers.

My heart goes out to all those who lost someone in this horrible tragedy. We all lost something that day. Everything changed and things will never be the same.