Trash the Dress

Don’t know what to do with the gown in your closet? Trash it!! 🙂

I am now the only photographer in NJ listed with Trash the Dress and I am so excited to be a part of yet another facet of wedding photography. I am also going to be a part of the Atlantic City Trashing next week!! I’m SO looking forward to this! Not only do I get a chance to build up my portfolio with some great images, but I get to spend the day with amazing photographers from all over the country! I can’t wait. I’m sure it is going to be an unbelievable learning experience. I’ll be sure to post a full report!

While the word “trash” may evoke some negative feelings, there’s nothing negative about these sessions! It’s your chance to once again put on that beautiful gown, be sexy and have fun in it once again, and, this time, not have to worry about getting it dirty. And of course the dress will only get as dirty as you want – it doesn’t have to be completely destroyed and most times it is salvageable.

Here’s information from the editors at Trash the Dress –
“First and Foremost, Brides and Photographers that participate in TTD sessions do it for beautiful art. It is not an attempt to destroy the dress, but rather an attempt to create something memorable. To quote a good friend, we just want to let the bride enjoy herself and her gown, and get away from the “Don’t get a spot on my dress” mentality. Why not show your husband how committed you are by showing him that you will never need the dress again…and create some great art with your photographer and/or videographer while you do it! And remember, your daughter will not want to wear the dress in 20 or 30 years, trust us.

NOT ALL DRESSES ARE TOTALLY TRASHED. This decision is purely up to the bride and groom. In MOST cases, the dress is salvageable.

We’ve been receiving several comments on how wasteful this trend is, but again, the intent is to CREATE, not DESTROY. Weddings should be a fun memorable experience. A “trash” session doesn’t have to be in a bayou, in the mud, or involve fire. It can be somewhere out of the normal element. Somewhere that may get a spot or two on the dress. Become liberated, have fun, enjoy the wedding experience! “

Contact me to schedule your session!